Work, Work, Work, Work, Work, Work

I just set a 12 minute timer.

I just set a 12 minute timer and legitimately thought, “Wow! So much free time!”

Today I decided to skip my lunch break to come back to my room and try to write something, because I haven’t in the month since I came here.

Did I say month? My bad. I meant week.

Sam and I started working last Saturday at an immersive summer program. We live and eat with our coworkers. They are our entire network while we are here, and for that reason, when you are here, there is no such thing as work-life balance. Work is life. Life is work. On nights off you go out and talk with your coworkers about your other coworkers. You take a break to try and write something and end up writing about… work.

And get this: I LOVE it. There is something so invigorating about working yourself to your core. There is something so thrilling about being tossed into a completely new social circle and getting to know all the new faces you are surrounded with. There is something so sustaining in waking up every day to make something that matters

beachin
They work us hard… but they also took us to the beach for an hour 😉

happen.

Working this much pulls you out of your own head, in a way. You stop getting caught up in any existential angst because you simply don’t have the time. 

My 12 minutes are almost up and I’ll have to run back to the office now, but please don’t forget about us and our blog 😉 We love writing here so much. We’ll be back full-time soon enough.

Some quick updates: We both booked our flights to Hong Kong! And I booked mine to Vancouver! And we’re going sailing for a week once we finish this job in August. Exciting things.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. 12 minutes! Fab idea gal, I always try to write once a day even if it’s just a paragraph haha. Keep grafting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You guys always remind me of sunshine! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. coffee&twigs says:

      That’s so sweet! thank you so much

      Liked by 1 person

  3. acceptingmom says:

    Love see you are able to get in some writing, even if only 12 mins.

    Like

Leave a Reply

