Summer Bucket Lists

I’m sitting on a train, gently swaying, a hazy orange sky illuminating the New York skyline. According to the available Snapchat filters, I’m just passing through the Bronx as I travel home after having completed my second journey of this long summer vacation we university students are blessed with. These past two weeks have been an absolute whirlwind (that I can’t wait to tell you all about!) and that is just how we like it.

Lively, busy, a bit exhausting, but exhilarating. Summer is alive and pulsing with energy and opportunity, and it’s important not to let this time pass.

We each wrote summer bucket lists to make sure we keep this active streak alive as the months grow hotter. We are happy to report that we crafted these right at the end of exams, and so a few have already been accomplished (popping off in a frenzy after all that studying like a cork from a champagne bottle).

Sam’s Bucket List

1. Get my driver’s license.
I know, I know, that sounds bad- I’m almost 21. But I basically have my license. I took the road test three years ago, but in order to get the full license with absolutely no restrictions I need to take a second road test. In 10 days.

2. Create a time lapse.
In general, experiment more with my camera.

3. Top of the Rock.
Do all of the lame, touristy stuff in NYC.

4. Eggloo.
HK style egg waffles in New York! Must try.

12826032_980881381996368_1969744535_n.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

5. Road trip.
Destination TBD. Further details coming soon.

6. Read 10 books.
Last summer I managed 17, but I’m aiming lower this year because I’ll have a more time consuming job.

7. Buy a travel pack
Honestly this one is mostly just a reminder to myself… But I’m determined to find the perfect carry-on sized backpack that I can live out of for weeks at a time.

8. 5 hikes
I solemnly pledge to take full advantage of where I live and complete at least five different hikes this summer.

9. Re-do my room.
My bedroom in my family’s house is stuck in 1904. The huge wooden bed, the bland, mid-tone blue walls, the heavy, old-woman furniture, the antique chandelier… Its dim and cramped and I love my room because it’s home but I hate it because it’s not me. So this summer I’m determined to bring my room into the 21st century.

 

Kelly’s Bucket List

1. Visit Atlanta
To my mind, Atlanta is one of the crowning jewels of the American South. Always warm and often hot, it is a liberal landmine dotted with adorable towns that ooze hip hospitality. It is also home to my grandparents, Aunt, and little cousins who I can never see enough. My great mission while there is to learn, from the woman herself, how to make my grandmother’s famous pie crust and orange poppy seed bread.

2. Visit Home (Philadelphia) 
It is still strange to go “home” to a place that isn’t, but I can manage as long as I make it down for a visit and get to stomp on the old stomping grounds and haunt the old haunts (is that how people say it?) My best friend turns 21 a few days before I do. I’ll be sure to be there to help celebrate.

3. Beach trip
Without the annual road trip to Cape May with friends (and lots and lots of Wawa coffee), summer just wouldn’t feel like summer.

4. Find Stars Hollow
I live in New England now, and if there’s one thing I know New England is the best at (besides Clam Chowder) it is cute small towns. I want to find the best one (hint: it’ll be the one with the best cup of coffee.)

5. Sail
The great thing about my parents’ new home is its coastal location, and I vow to spend as much time on the water as I can.

6. Find the best places to bike near my new home
I left behind a fantastic network of riverside rails-to-trails bike paths in the greater Philadelphia area. Oh my God, do I miss them, but it’s time to move on. I still live in a gorgeous area (replacing river with ocean! so some people might even call that an upgrade). It’s my mission now to scope out the best places to ride.

7. Finish an extended work of fiction
I hesitate to call it a novel, but that might help you get the picture. I have the time, I have the idea. What I don’t have is excuses not to tie up every narrative thread, weave a cohesive story together, and not abandon the project halfway through, etc.

8. Road trip.

9. Have my first legal drink in the USA on my 21st birthday [side note: as of posting, today is my 21st birthday. First legal drink still to come 😉 ]

10. Hike Rattlesnake Mountain and Pokaomoonshine

11. Spend the night outside

12. Play through an Escape room and WIN this time

13. Have a campfire and roast marshmallows and look at the stars and get way too #deep

14. Make that monayyyy 😉 [our jobs begin mid-June]

15. Fly to Hong Kong!!

 

As you can see, we are quite excited. We hope you are too! What are your plans for this summer?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. sarahpratley says:

    Amazing plans! I’m planning on doing the touristy stuff too, but in London! And such a great idea to do up your bedroom at your parents’ house. It’s always lovely to go home but even better if you truly love your room! x

    https://sarahpratley.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

