A Sun-kissed Summer Tag

We are so thrilled to have finished classes for the year. Summer is our favorite season, by far. The heat, the excitement, the sultry long nights. We wanted to answer a fun summer tag, and we found these questions, so thank you Kat Bouska!

Describe your dream summer vacation

Kelly – I wake as the sun begins to rise over the lake and make coffee as the sky turns to vivid pink. I have a few hours on my own, to read, to write, to listen to the birds, before my friends wake up. We’re going to have lunch at the top of the mountain and then return to the beach to wash off our sweat. That night we’ll have a fire and roast marshmallows and look up at the stars as we tell each other stories. It is magic.

Sam – A road trip with my best friends, all crammed into a stuffy, old car driving endless hours to explore new places, everyone screeching along to the Backstreet Boys on the radio.

What is your favorite summer drink?

Kelly – An ice cold Blue Moon First Peach Ale. Summer in a bottle.

Sam – My mom makes a creamy, ice-cold mango lassi type drink that I’m absolutely addicted to.

S’mores or ice cream?

Kelly – On a hot summer day, is there anything more rewarding than a cone of ice cream? No. No, I tell you. Plus, if I have to renounce s’mores, I’ll just roast bananas over a fire. Everything’s not lost.

Sam – Definitely  ice cream. Specifically, mint chocolate chip ice cream.

IMG_0489 (1)Pool or Beach?

Kelly – Beach! Beach! Beach! Beach!

Sam – Beach! But I would never say no to the pool either.

Would you rather spend a summer day outside in the pool or inside watching Netflix?

Kelly – Absolutely, 100% outside at the pool. If there is an ounce of sunshine I want to bask in it.

Sam – Netflix binges are for winter, when the cold keeps us inside and school fries our brains. Summer is for freedom and living and I can’t wait to spend as much time outside as possible.

Your most fun summer memory?

Kelly – I loved to join in with my big sister’s cool friends playing flashlight games in the fields surrounding our extremely rural lake house. Those nights were so exciting to little me that my teeth would chatter.

Sam – When I was younger my family and I would spent weeks at our cabin, swimming and tubing and lazing around in the sun. Sometimes my dad would let me drive my grandpa’s old motorboat and every year it was honestly the most exciting part of my summer.

 

Favorite summer nail polish?

Kelly – My fingers and toes are constantly coral throughout the summer months.

Sam – My nails basically oscillate between black, white, and clear. Sometimes I’ll get really crazy and paint them blue (I know, don’t get too wild, right?)

Processed with Rookie Cam

Sunglasses or hats?

Kelly – Sunglasses. Hats look silly and don’t get the job done.

Sam – Sunglasses. Although only if I really need them- unnecessary things on my face tend to drive me crazy.

Favorite summer scent?

Kelly – Chlorine and barbecue. Is that weird?

Sam – Pine trees and salt.

Favorite BBQ food?

Kelly – a good, juicy cheeseburger with pickles and onions.

Sam – Spicy BBQ ribs. Or a really good hotdog.

Bikinis, tankinis, or one pieces?

Kelly – Technical question here – I am obsessed with my high-waisted bikini – but does the high waist actually make it a tankini?

Sam – Bikinis.

Summertime Book recommendations

Kelly – Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert to get you going on a creative project while you have all the time in the world, Almost Somewhere by Suzanne Roberts to encourage your sense of adventure, and any Harry Potter book to drum up some nostalgia in honor of The Chosen One’s birthday  come July.

Sam – A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson or Wild by Cheryl Strayed to inspire you to get out there, Bossypants by Tina Fey if you’re looking for something light and amusing, and Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adhichie just because everyone should read it.

We’re always on the look out for more book recommendations, so let us know your reading suggestions!

We tag everyone who is as inspired by summer as we are. We’d love to read your responses!

 

Leave a Reply

