Belated Beauty Blogger Award Volume II

Way, way back in late January we nominated one of our favorite, favorite women in the WordPress World to do the Beauty Blogger Award (The Historian, if you didn’t know), and she volleyed it right back to us with some heady questions of her own. We are now finally ready to take them on 😉

If you could have a free flight/trip to one country in the world tomorrow, where would it be and why?

Kelly – Japan, because spring is beautiful and we could visit Reina and it would be a much cheaper launch pad to Hong Kong than Boston.

Sam ~ New Zealand. (I re-watched The Hobbit yesterday).

Do you believe that etiquette has a place in the twenty first century?

Kelly – That depends on what you mean! Being polite is extremely important and a simple way to make life better and smoother for everyone. If by etiquette you are referring to stuffy country club rules designed to make those not in the know look like bumbling fools, then no, perhaps not.

Sam ~ Yes! Basic courtesy can make a huge difference.

What is your favourite animal? (Please provide an adorable picture:) )

Kelly – I’m trying to do a non-dog response (because you have probably already seen 12 pictures of dogs during your time online in the past minute). My non-canine favorite animal has to be an otter because they are just so cute and playful.

white-otter-says-hi-big

Sam ~ Whales. whale-landing-hero_61029559.jpg

13020627_10154077534208431_1747797347_nBig hats – yay or nay?

Kelly – I want to be one of those fabulous women who wears big floppy hats and just looks effortlessly chic and cool, but I’m just not it. I would spend the whole afternoon thinking about the fabric flopping about atop my head and blocking my view, and thinking about it too much would entirely defeat the effortless vibe you have to go for to pull these off. Nope, just not for me. Not now, at least. I’ll keep working on that attitude.

Sam ~ On other people? Yes! If it feels good, go for it. On me? Not so much. I have one of those oddly shaped heads that just doesn’t work with most hats.

What was your favourite course in secondary/post-secondary?

Kelly – I actually loved AP Biology. Memorizing the various processes of the liver was bizarrely satisfying.  

Sam ~ In high school my favourite class was always English Lit. The best class I’ve ever taken at university was Greek Mythology- each class was fascinating and my childhood obsession with the Percy Jackson books ensured it was an easy A.

Number one makeup item?

Kelly – Foundation! The answer to my skin woes.

Sam ~ Hard to decide between concealer and mascara. On a good skin day, mascara. If not, concealer is VITAL.

IMG_3473What is the first thing you do when you wake up in the morning?

Kelly – Wash my face, brush my teeth, make coffee, inhale the scent of the grounds while the coffee brews, and then read for about half an hour while the caffeine works its way through my system. I’m still making my way through Murakami’s The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle.

Sam ~ Press snooze 16 times.

If you could only wear one designer/store for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Kelly – Lately, Banana Republic, and I’m not sure what this says about me. They’ve got it all – cute, casual, classy, professional. I feel like this store would age well with me, and yet I still find really fun things here.

Sam ~ This is so hard. I’m thinking H&M – it’s cheap and they have every article of clothing you could need. If price doesn’t matter then TopShop.

Hunter boots or riding boots?

Kelly – Ankle boots.

Sam ~ I should probably say Hunter boots because I’m from one of the rainiest cities in North America, but I don’t actually own any rain boots whatsoever. I did ride horses when I was younger and felt super spiffy in my Blundstones and half chaps.

What is your secret talent?

Kelly – I have a somewhat freakish memory for personal anecdotes, in that if you tell me an anecdote I will remember every single little detail years down the line (I won’t remember your birthday or other useful things though – just personal trivia you actually wish I wouldn’t remember because you are probably going to repeat this story at a future gathering. I may or may not pretend not to have heard it before, to make you more or less comfortable.)

Sam ~ I can bend my elbows backwards. I am also the widely acknowledged master of jar-opening.

Thanks so much to The Historian, again, for the nomination and the fun questions! And if anyone reading this would like to give their answers, we’d love to read them!

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. lexilife says:

    Haha I feel you on the floppy hat wannabe. I feel way to over dressed in a floppy hat and instantly go into a mode where I think everyones looking at me and my massive hat. Plus they’re a pain to travel with haha. Great post xx

    http://www.lexilife95.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. coffee&twigs says:

      Exactly! I feel like the hat is a giant “LOOK-AT-ME-TRY” sign. Silly, yes, but true

      Liked by 1 person

  2. sarahpratley says:

    That otter is sooo cute! Such an interesting tag, thanks for sharing! x

    https://sarahpratley.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

