Music Tag!

I admire an eclectic music collection far more than I do a “good” music collection, because what is “good” music, anyway? It’s all just engineered sound waves designed to tickle your brain – if it makes you feel good, well, to me that’s good music. If you have eclectic taste, if your iTunes library reaches into dusty corners of the genre-scope, that’s what is pretty cool to me. That shows an open and curious mind, and a passion for music that requires your exploration into the unknown.

And so this music tag that required that we put our iTunes on shuffle and write down our favorite lyrics from the first 10 songs that play – no skipping, no flinching, no lies – might be our favorite tag yet. What is going to come up? You may see our favorites, you may see some of our more bizarre offerings, or perhaps you’ll glimpse a guilty pleasure or two. There’s no hiding here.

We did this on the couch together, giggling and groaning as J. Cole song after J. Cole song came up for Sam. Personally, I was a bit disappointed by how many Black Keys songs came up. I love them all dearly, but I am afraid my list is rather one dimensional.

A huge thanks to Abi Leah for the shout out! This was so much fun. She is such a sweetheart – go check out her blog!

Kelly’s iTunes:

1. Glass of WaterColdplay

“Oh they say you can see your future inside a glass of water – the ripples and the rhymes. Will I see heaven in mine?

Oh son, don’t ask neither how full nor empty is the glass.”

2. All You Ever Wanted – The Black Keys

“All you ever wanted was someone who treats you nice and kind”

The_Black_Keys_-_Brothers3. Ten Cent Pistol – The Black Keys

“Stars did fall, thunder rolled, bugs crawled back in their holes. The couple screamed but it was far too late. A jealous heart did retaliate…”

4. Gold on the CeilingThe Black Keys

“I ain’t blind, it’s just a matter of time before you steal it. It’s alright – 

Ain’t no guard in my house.”

5. In the Wild – Alpine

“Leaving home today; home is everywhere in the wild”

VampireWeekendCD26. The Kids Don’t Stand a Chance – Vampire Weekend

“You criticize the practice by murdering their plants

Ignoring all the history, denying them romance”

7. Lakehouse – Of Monsters and Men

The floor under our feet whispers out, ‘Come on in, come on in, where it all begins.”

1441214735kanye_west_Late_Registration_cover8. Diamonds from Sierra Leone (Remix) – Kanye West

“Though it’s thousands of miles away
Sierra Leone connect to what we go through today
Over here, it’s a drug trade, we die from drugs
Over there they die from what we buy from drugs”

9. Howlin’ for You – The Black Keys

“I must admit I can’t explain any of these thoughts racing through my brain. It’s true, baby, I’m howlin’ for you”

10. High Speed – Coldplay

“Can anybody fly this thing? Before my head explodes, or my head starts to ring. We’ve been living life inside a bubble…”

Sam’s iTunes:

tumblr_m9qo6tAjFL1rfwgqko1_5001. Green Eyes – Coldplay

“Honey you are a rock upon which I stand”

2. Lean On – Major Lazer

“But the night was warm
We were bold and young
All around the wind blows
We would only hold on to let go”

lily-allen-smile-c9df13. Smile – Lily Allen

“At worst I feel bad for a while,
But then I just smile, I go ahead and smile”

4. Trouble – J. Cole

I take you to the promise land
You don’t want problems, I promise man”tumblr_ngad7fDVpk1u5ubrqo1_1280

5. El Condor Pasa – Simon & Garfunkel

“Away, I’d rather sail away
Like a swan that’s here and gone”

download6. Blue – Troye Sivan

“I know you’re seeing black and white
So I’ll paint you a clear blue sky
Without you I am colour-blind
It’s raining every time I open my eyes

7. Melt My Heart to Stone – Adele

“I best tidy up my head; I’m the only one in love”

g-eazy-me-myself-i8. Me, Myself & I – G-Eazy

“Even when the night is cold
I got that fire in my soul”

9. Love Me Do – The Beatles

“I’ll always be true
So please, love me do”

10. Enchanted – J. Cole

“And through these lines and quotes you gotta find some hope

Cause I ain’t dying my words gon’ last forever”

 

We tag:

  1. An Historian About Town
  2. Rosie
  3. The Picky Eater Travels
  4. Kym! 

 

Let us know what you think! Any of these songs your favorites?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. What a fun idea! Going to try it on my ipod later.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. coffee&twigs says:

      Awesome! We want to see!

      Like

      1. Looking Out My Back Door CCR
        There’s a giant doing cartwheels a statue wearin’ high heels
        Look at all the happy creatures dancing on the lawn

        Sweet Child O’ Mine Guns N Roses
        She’s got a smile that it seems to me
        Reminds me of childhood memories

        Tomorrow Never Knows Beatles
        Yet you may see the meaning of within
        It is being, it is being

        I’m Your Boogie Man KC & the sunshine band
        I’m your boogie man, I’m your boogie man
        Turn me on

        Cecilia Simon & Gaefunkle
        Celia, you’re breaking my heart,
        You’re shaking my confidence daily

        Let It Loose Rolling Stones
        Some things, well, I can’t refuse,
        One of them, one of them the bedroom blues.

        The Thin Ice Pink Floyd
        Don’t be surprised, when a crack in the ice
        Appears under your feet

        Over The Hills & Far Away Led Zepplin
        Many times I’ve lied – Many times I’ve listened
        Many times I’ve wondered how much there is to know

        Our House Crosby Stills & Nash
        Our house is a very, very fine house with two cats in the yard, life used to be so hard,
        Now everything is easy cause of you and our la, la, la..

        Liked by 1 person

      2. the first song in the mix was a jazz piece with no lyrics…the rest are kinda oldies lol

        Liked by 1 person

        1. coffee&twigs says:

          oldies but goodies! you really couldn’t ask for a better song to come up lyrically than Tomorrow Never Knows

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

