Petits Délices (02/07)

Updates to our favourite podcast! (Serial)

logo

141028-adnan-syed-serial-01_1be4328c6a1ee320d1448e60fde07b06.0.0We’ve already mentioned our obsession with Serial Season 1 (reporter Sarah Koenig’s riveting investigation into the murder of a high school girl in Baltimore). I raced through all 12 episodes within about 48 hours, unable to tear myself away from the twisted, convoluted events of January 13, 1999 and trying fruitlessly to determine who was lying, changing my mind with each episode. The podcast was masterfully done, but we were left still wanting for an answer, concocting our own theories, and combing news articles for updates on Adnan Syed’s case. And then, last week, Koenig posted an update. Adnan Syed was granted a hearing, basically to determine whether new evidence and his previous lawyer’s incompetence should grant him yet another appeal. Fans of Season 1 need to go listen!

Lonely Planet: Hong Kong

UnknownI never thought I was the type to read guidebooks cover to cover… but wow, turns out I was wrong. Our exchange plans are settled- in the fall, Kelly and I will be in one of the world’s most vibrant cities: Hong Kong! As soon as I found out I headed straight to the bookstore, intent on learning as much as possible about my next home. I purchased Lonely Planet’s Hong Kong guidebook, and have since been reverently thumbing through the colourful, wildly exciting pages. My favourite tidbits include the “Rent-A-Curse Grannies” in Wan Chai, who stomp on paper cutouts of an enemy of your choice, and endless lists of delicious-looking and budget-friendly dim sum restaurants.

The Office

This show just makes me so happy.

d89170bec43cb1e831c40632bca058e4

As a tv nerd extraordinaire, I sample new shows all the time. I usually have about 3 or 4 series going at once, always searching for my next obsession. But every once and a while I need to go back to a mid-range paper company in Scranton, PA. This show just does it for me! The goofy humour, the stereotypical office characters, the perfect love story. The show still manages to make me laugh out loud (even though I’ve probably watched each episode upwards of 10 times), and lately I’ve just needed that warm familiarity to get me through this winter (-39 degrees Celsius with wind chill today, folks).

Sugar Cookies!

sugar cookies, hearts, heart cookies, frosting, valentine's day, spring, bakingIn honour of Valentine’s Day (and because Kelly brought home about 50 cookie cutters after a baking supply shopping spree), we made sugar cookies!

These hearts turned out so spring-like and joyous- and absolutely scrumptious as well.

This was the first time we made cutout cookies like this, and really our first stab at decorating. You can probably tell… while delicious and charming in their own homey way, they are not, ya know, perfect. And perfection is a fruitless goal, but we would like to up our game at this. There are some bakers out there with serious chops. Any advice for us? Pretty please with sugary frosting on top?

USA cookie, USA map cookie, sugar cookie, america, frosted cookie
hiiiiigh hopes, we had hiiiiigh hopes 😉
6 Comments Add yours

  1. What do you want help with? My best guess would be the icing of them…. I see spoons but not a piping bag or anything else. I usually pipe an outline of icing and then fill it all in. Crisp edges and much, much easier. I’ve nifty squeeze bottles that I fill with icing for the filling in part. There are loads of you tube videos that show this process. You know what they say, practice makes perfect. AND you get extra cookies! Score!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. coffee&twigs says:

      Great tip! We’ll try piping next time. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. We can’t wait to see your blogs on Hong Kong! Congrats on your exchange. The cookies look delicious. Just watched The Office episode – Christmas party where Michael drags Meredith to rehab and Phyllis is blackmailing Angela. Hysterical!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. coffee&twigs says:

      Thank you so much!
      And that episode is one of my favourites!! Meredith drunkenly bellydancing was hilarious

      Like

Leave a Reply

