Beauty Blogger Award!

As our readers may know, we LOVE to answer tag questions. Who doesn’t? Everyone loves to be interviewed, to answer soul-searching inquiries a la those wonderfully addictive BuzzFeed quizzes. The simply lovely Simply Daiana tagged us to do the Beauty Blogger Award, and we are immensely pleased and very thankful – it has been a few months now but we still get insanely giddy with every little bit of recognition from the fellow bloggers we admire so much.

The rules:

  1. Tag the blogger that nominated you.
  2. Answer the questions you were given
  3. Nominate 10 people whose blog is about beauty or fashion
  4. Make 10 questions for your nominees to answer
  5. Inform the bloggers you chose that you nominated them!

So, without further ado, a huge thanks to Simply Daiana! We adore you and your blog!

And now, the questions:

1. What is your favorite beauty product?

Sam ~ When I was younger I would definitely have said my felt-tip eyeliner, but somewhere around the ages of 16-17 I realized I didn’t need to look like a gothic raccoon every day (eyeliner application is not one of my strengths). Nowadays its probably my makeup sponge. Or chapstick. Does chapstick count?

Kelly – Of course we like to think we’re savvy consumers insusceptible to clunky advertising, but the many not-so-subtle Youtube sponsorships that have cropped up lately actually managed to hook me on Kiehl’s Dark Spot Corrector. If you have fair and sensitive skin like mine with a tendency to get blemishes, you will know the pain of hyper-pigmentation (or, ghost pimples). This product requires dedication to see results, but it works on speeding up the lightening process of those cursed red marks.

2. What is your go to clothing item?

Sam ~ Jeans. Hoodie. Converse. I’m so boring.

Kelly – Striped shirts! I don’t know what it is about a striped shirt, but I have half a dozen and feel my best in them.

3. What movie have you watched at least 5 times?

Sam ~ I went through a period in grade 7 where my friend and I alternated between watching Mean Girls and Napoleon Dynamite every weekend.

Kelly The year I got the Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban DVD for Christmas I watched it about twice a day for the rest of break and to this day it gets replayed a few times a year. Inexplicably, the only other contender could be Monster in Law… I honestly could not tell you why this obscure, terrible Jennifer Lopez rom-com so captivated me, but I have vague memories of watching it every few days when I was quite young. How did we even come to possess this DVD? Who made the decision to purchase it?

4. Who can you always count on when you need a little help?

Sam ~ my parents, my cat, and, of course, my best friends (looking at you, Kellz).

Kelly – My good pal and closest confidante, Tom Brady.

DSC_05345. What is your guilty pleasure?

Sam ~ Cookies and “What I Got For Christmas” videos on YouTube.

Kelly – Just general hedonism. I like to overdo it, and then wish I hadn’t.

6. Biggest Pet Peeve?

Sam ~ When the internet connection doesn’t work I turn into a raging angry sasquatch. BIGGEST pet peeve ever.

Kelly – Downers and mopes. Loud chewers.

7. What do you hope to accomplish in 2016?

Sam ~ I want to explore. I want to go new places, have adventures, and meet new people. I want to push myself to expand my boundaries, leave my comfort zone, and live. 
Also eat less sugar – I’m trying to cut out sugar from my morning coffee and I’m slowly (and very reluctantly) getting used to the taste.

Kelly – I want to approach the world from a place of pure love and openness, and for some reason that includes not shrinking away from such a cheesy statement, though all my instincts are screaming at me to.

8. If you had the ability to turn back time, would you?

Sam ~ Oooh, difficult question. The amount of times I embarrass myself in a given day is unreasonably high, so it would be REALLY nice to have a rewind button sometimes. But I can’t really think of any significant decisions in my life that I would want to change. Yeah I’ve made a lot of mistakes along the way, but (and I know this is cheesy and cliché) I honestly learned from them, and in the end everything always turns out okay.

Kelly – The thing is, right now, wow, yes, there is something I really wish I could turn back time and redo. But sitting here thinking about it, I know in a month or a week or maybe by the time I finish writing this sentence, I will be over it. Everything is temporary. What would turning back time really do? Things are the way they are. Things will be the way they will be.

IMG_16409. If you won the lottery, what would you do with the money?

Sam ~ Travel. Be spontaneous. Give my parents the means to fully enjoy their lives without worrying about money. Buy a trampoline.

Kelly – I would visit all of the friends I miss all over the world. I would probably drop out of school, for now. I would spend months at sea and months in the mountains and I would send my parents to Tokyo. I would use my money to give me a voice in politics, because if you can’t beat them and you’ve just won the lottery, join them (#USA!)

10. A shooting star goes by, what do you wish for?

Sam ~ Happiness and adventure.

Kelly – Fulfillment.

 

Now, here are our questions!

  1. What are your feelings about makeup? Fun? Functional? Fuggedaboutit?
  2. If you wear makeup regularly, when did you start? If you don’t, did you ever? Why did you stop/never start?
  3. You have a big, exciting day ahead. What do you wear?
  4. What are your thoughts on dress codes?
  5. Do you normally have long or short hair?
  6. If you could spend three weeks anywhere around the world, where would you go?
  7. Now we are about a month in, what is your number one goal for the rest of 2016?
  8. If you could gain a new skill instantly, what would it be?
  9. Describe the last time you laughed so hard you cried.
  10. What is your number one most listened to song on iTunes/whichever music app you use?

 

We tag:

  1. Life in limbo
  2. The Historian
  3. Crazy Spoonfuls
  4. Happy Alex
  5. ParisianPages
  6. Jess Guarnieri
  7. Noehlina
  8. Cassandra
  9. Alina
  10. Lynna

 

Have fun, guys! And keep on doing what you’re doing, we love all of your stuff so much!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. happyalexx says:

    Thank you for the nomination! And you both make me laugh so much, it’s always a pleasure to read your blog posts, in love with your gorgeous personalities! Keep blogging lovelies 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. coffee&twigs says:

      Thank you so much!! We love your blog as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Awww, thank you!! I will get started on this straightaway, what a lovely surprise 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. coffee&twigs says:

      can’t wait to read it!

      Like

  3. parisianpages says:

    thanks for the nomination . i’ll definetly do this when i come back from ‘break’ :D:D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. coffee&twigs says:

      Awesome! Can’t wait to see what you come up with 🙂

      Like

  4. Daiana says:

    Yay! So glad you did this! I loved reading your guy’s answers. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. coffee&twigs says:

      Thanks for nominating us! it was so much fun 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lynna says:

    I loved reading both of your answers! I personally love both Mean Girls & the Harry Potter series as well!! haha, I don’t think I’d ever get tired of watching those movies.

    And thank you so much for your nomination! These awards always mean so much to me to receive ❤ I've already posted about this award, but I'd still love to answer your questions.

    My answers:

    What are your feelings about makeup? Fun? Functional? Fuggedaboutit?
    – I think makeup is fun to experiment with 🙂 I like learning & picking up on new things about it from time to time!

    If you wear makeup regularly, when did you start? If you don’t, did you ever? Why did you stop/never start?
    – I wear minimal makeup if any at all! and it's actually always been this way! I think part of it just comes from the fact that I'm too lazy to dress up my face haha. I definitely love and adore looking at others' makeup though and admire how flawlessly they wear it!

    You have a big, exciting day ahead. What do you wear?
    – A floral dress, with a statement necklace & some nice heels!

    What are your thoughts on dress codes?
    – I think that's no fun :/ I feel that puts such big limits on self expression and creativity.

    Do you normally have long or short hair?
    – Long! Short hair is not suitable for me :p

    If you could spend three weeks anywhere around the world, where would you go?
    – Oh my gosh, I'd love to go some tropical for 3 weeks that sounds like a dream, probably The Maldives!

    Now we are about a month in, what is your number one goal for the rest of 2016?
    – Continue maintaining a fit & healthy lifestyle!

    If you could gain a new skill instantly, what would it be?
    – Reading minds? Can that be an acquired skill. haha

    Describe the last time you laughed so hard you cried.
    – I was watching an old episode of That's So Raven hahah. I don't know why, I mean that show is funny, but I cracked up so hard that tears really came out

    What is your number one most listened to song on iTunes/whichever music app you use?
    – Let It Go by James Bay

    Hope y'all enjoy the rest of your weekend 🙂

    xo, Lynna
    Howlynnaful

    Liked by 1 person

    1. coffee&twigs says:

      Lynna! We didn’t see your full comment until just now (curse mobile viewing, argh). But they are so lovely. That’s So Raven has made us laugh until we cry too 😉 Thank you so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

